Skip to main content

The 10-20-30-40-50 Workout

 
 
I get asked what I do for exercise quite often. I, in no way, have the perfect body, but I am in pretty decent shape and I think it is always important to maintain an active and healthy lifestyle whether you're a mom or not. I don't think being a mom is an excuse to not be healthy (and just so y'all know, being healthy doesn't mean we don't have stretch marks or extra cushion. AmIright?) but I do understand dedicating a large quantity of your day to fitness is really difficult. In addition to having a desire to be healthy, I workout because food. I love it. And I don't want to stop eating it. So I workout.

I take one kickboxing/insanity class each week at a local church (I LOVE IT!) but other than that I'm on my own for exercise. Running is usually my go-to - it has always been relaxing, calming and therapeutic to me. Then my kids turned 2 and 4 and I was like 'holy cow! Is there an actual COW in this stroller I'm pushing? One that won't stop talking to me or asking me for help.' So running as much as I try to get a few miles in here and there isn't always appealing. I tend to stick to play workouts - lunges, squats, and pull-ups on playground equipment, running races with my kids, jumping on the trampoline.

One of my favorite workouts to do is what I've dubbed the 10-20-30-40-50 workout. It takes me less than 30 minutes and you can do it just about anywhere. I do it at the high school near my house because they have a killer hill (about 50 feet or so and steep). I bring tennis rackets and soccer balls for the kids in the tennis courts, then bust my butt for 30 minutes.

10 hill sprints (up and down is 1. If you don't have a hill near you, sub 100 mountain climbers here or just sprint in your backyard or cul-de-sac.)
20 burpees
30 push-ups
40 squats (or lunges)
50 sit ups or crunches

Repeat 4x. It takes me about 7 minutes per round. When I don't have 30 minutes, I'll only do 2 or 3 rounds and it's still a great work out - every exercise burns and every exercise you will feel the next day.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

30 Gluten-Free Crock Pot Meals that Won't Break the Bank

In honor of my dad, this round of crock potting is gluten-free. Over the summer my dad was diagnosed with Celiac Disease and when I found out, I cringed for him. My dad, like me, loves food - all kinds of food but especially pastas, pizzas, bread. How on earth could we take out so many delicious foods that fall under the category of "gluten" and still be satisfied? Apparently it's not as hard as I thought. These recipes are REALLY good, completely satisfying, super easy, and very affordable. I did 30 meals for $168 (this includes a strainer I needed plus disposable trays for the two freezer meals). Keep in mind these recipes are NOT Paleo or AIP. They are simply GLUTEN FREE. That also doesn't mean fat-free or calorie-free. Sorry, folks! ;) You also won't find any cream of whatchamacallit or seasoning packets. Not because I'm completely opposed to them (though I do know they are highly processed and not good for us), but because most, if not all of them...

19 Meals, $114

Here we go... Menu: 2 Potato Soup 2 Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli 1 Sweet Hawaiian Chicken 2 Italian Peppers and Sausage 1 Roast Beef Au Jus 1 Memphis BBQ Pit Pork Roast and Potatoes 1 Cheeseburger Soup 2 Chili 1 Honey Mustard BBQ Chicken 1 Italian Sausage Spaghetti Sauce 1 Balsamic Roast 2 Mac and Cheese (non crock pot) 2 Shepherds Pie (non crock pot) Shopping List: 2 cartons chicken broth (or 4 cans) 3 cream of chicken 3 cans corn 4 cans tomato sauce 3 cans cheddar cheese soup 4 cans diced tomatoes 1 can diced pineapple 2 cans kidney beans 2 cans black beans 3 bottles BBQ sauce 1 bottle honey mustard 1 Memphis BBQ Pit Seasoning Packet 1 Au Jus seasoning packet 2 packages cream cheese 3 bags of shredded cheddar cheese 2 Pork Roasts 1 package roast beef 2 bags of chicken breasts 2 packages Italian sausage links 1 package Italian sausage (ground) 8-10 lbs. ground beef 2 boxes yellow rice 1 box spaghetti noodles 2 boxes macaroni noodles 4 p...

Am I pregnant or stupid?

I've read stories about people getting the "pregnant stupids" and while I think they're hysterical, I think I've got them...bad. All the time. Every day. My guess is that because I lucked out with morning sickness (or lack of), God decided to turn me into an idiot. Case in point. Thursday afternoon, I drove all the way home from work (about 20 minutes) only to realize I forgot my work keys, which I needed to open the office the next morning. So I had to rush back to work before my co-worker left at 5 p.m. to grab them. She looked at me like I was crazy. I told her I was. Then when I got home, Darren and I were going to meet my aunt and uncle and cousins downtown for dinner. So we rushed off to dinner and as soon as we hit the busy grid of downtown, I realized, I FORGOT MY PHONE. This would be OK any other day except for the fact that 1) I was the only one that had any of their phone numbers and 2) We didn't even designate a spot to meet - we were just going to...